Code Club Registrations Now Open!

Please fill out the form below to sign up for Code Club term 2 sessions.

Once completed we will be in touch to confirm your booking.

Code Club Registrations

  • Please note that while every effort will be made to fit you with your preferred day, this can not always be the case.
    To maximise the number of places available we encourage participants to bring their own laptops where possible.

Local students participate in national literacy project

Imagine an Olympic Torch carried from town to town from one side of Australia to the other.

Click on image to enlarge

Now instead of a torch, picture a book passed between volunteers as it travels! And at each town where the book relay stops, a new page is added to the story by that community.

Called the Paint Australia REaD Book Relay, the project celebrates the importance of reading, particularly for children.

The Shire of Dardanup organised for the Book Relay to call in at River Valley Primary School earlier this week with Dardanup Shire President Mick Bennett in attendance as the Master of Ceremonies.

Students were treated to a reading of the book Alpacas with Marracas by children’s entertainer Glen Perks and his puppet Hen Three.

Paint Australia REaD is one project of national community-driven literacy project Paint the Town REaD.

Also, stay tuned with more events planned by the Shire of Dardanup as a supporter of Paint the Town REaD coming soon.

Shire of Dardanup Library Services has a range of programs and activities designed to get your child into reading. If you would like to find out more please contact us.

Originally posted on Shire of Dardanup website by Kristy Hitchens.

Easter Holiday Library Hours

Shire of Dardanup Library Services will be closed from:

Friday, 19 April to Monday 21 April 2019

We would like to wish you a happy and safe holiday.

Read More →

Book Talk

The Night Tiger

By: Yangsze Choo

Goodreads rating: 4.08/5

Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love.  Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

Depth Perception

By: Linda Castillo

Narrator: Ann Marie Lee

Goodreads rating: 3.94/5

A killer is watching……Nat Jennings nearly died the night her family was murdered and spent the next three years wishing she had.  Now, she is returning to the sleepy bayou town of Bellerose, Louisiana, driven by cryptic messages only she can hear – messages pleading for her help.

After serving six years for a crime he didn’t commit, Nick Bastille is back in Bellerose, mourning his precious son, who drowned while Nick was away at prison, unable to protect him.  But when Nat approaches him with a shocking revelation, his denial slowly turns to a desire for revenge…..Together, they will hunt for a merciless killer who nearly destroyed them both once – and is now preparing to finish them off once and for all……

Food Safari: Earth, Fire & Water

Maeve O’Meara invites you on a journey around the world of cuisines, meeting home cooks and chefs from Asia, Europe, the Americas and the Middle East who are all passionate advocates of cooking with the best and most natural produce they can get.

Discover the pleasures of baking, roasting, one-pot cooking, or cooking Asian-style in a wok, with the people across the globe that know how to do it best.  Maeve guides the reader through the regions she visits throughout the book – their ingredients and influences – while explaining local techniques in the practical and accessible style that has already won her so many followers.  Food Safari: Earth, Fire, Water are packed with more than 170 recipes, full of crunch, bite and flavour, which explore age-old techniques and cutting-edge cookery.

Murders and Metaphors

By: Amanda Flower

Goodreads rating:  4.43/5

Best selling author Amanda Flower,  is back with the third in her more-charming-than-ever Magical Bookshop mystery.  Fans of Sofie Kelly and Heather Blake, prepare your bookshelves!

Stalker

By:  Lars Kepler

Goodreads rating: 4.09/5

A terrifying new thriller.  Detective Joona Linna – recently returned from compassionate leave, reunites with hypnotist Erik Maria Bark in a search for a seemingly unassailable sadistic killer.

The Stupendously Spectacular Spelling Bee

By: Deborah Abela

Goodreads rating; 4.2/5

A heartwarming story about a girl who’s afraid to follow her dreams, and the family who help make them happen.

At the Library

By: Heather Alexander and Ipek Konak

This beautifully illustrated book introduces children to libraries, big and small, and all of the amazing things these institutions have to offer.  From books to computers, from story time to special guests and from unique collections to very important rules.  This is a wonderful way for children to learn about libraries and the value of reading, sharing and community.

In addition, the unique design of the book allows children to discover a ‘hidden’ image by holding the page up to a bright light, much like a lift-the-flap mechanism.   For children aged 3 and up, this is an excellent and inclusive introduction to libraries.

Australian Backyard Earth Scientist

By: Peter Macinnis

Every activity in the book has been done from scratch and photographed, so readers can see the steps and read a logical account that leaves nothing out.  Author, Peter Macinnis hopes to give adults tools with which to infect another generation.

The Good Gut Diet

By: Women’s Weekly

The best way to look after your health is to eat a wide variety of wholesome gut-loving foods.  Follow the good gut diet to support your immune system, manage your weight, improve your moods, and keep stress and anxiety at bay.  If you’re good to your gut, your gut will be good to you!

 

New Books to the Library