Archive for What’s New

Book Talk

The Night Tiger

By: Yangsze Choo

Goodreads rating: 4.08/5

Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love.  Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

Depth Perception

By: Linda Castillo

Narrator: Ann Marie Lee

Goodreads rating: 3.94/5

A killer is watching……Nat Jennings nearly died the night her family was murdered and spent the next three years wishing she had.  Now, she is returning to the sleepy bayou town of Bellerose, Louisiana, driven by cryptic messages only she can hear – messages pleading for her help.

After serving six years for a crime he didn’t commit, Nick Bastille is back in Bellerose, mourning his precious son, who drowned while Nick was away at prison, unable to protect him.  But when Nat approaches him with a shocking revelation, his denial slowly turns to a desire for revenge…..Together, they will hunt for a merciless killer who nearly destroyed them both once – and is now preparing to finish them off once and for all……

Food Safari: Earth, Fire & Water

Maeve O’Meara invites you on a journey around the world of cuisines, meeting home cooks and chefs from Asia, Europe, the Americas and the Middle East who are all passionate advocates of cooking with the best and most natural produce they can get.

Discover the pleasures of baking, roasting, one-pot cooking, or cooking Asian-style in a wok, with the people across the globe that know how to do it best.  Maeve guides the reader through the regions she visits throughout the book – their ingredients and influences – while explaining local techniques in the practical and accessible style that has already won her so many followers.  Food Safari: Earth, Fire, Water are packed with more than 170 recipes, full of crunch, bite and flavour, which explore age-old techniques and cutting-edge cookery.

Murders and Metaphors

By: Amanda Flower

Goodreads rating:  4.43/5

Best selling author Amanda Flower,  is back with the third in her more-charming-than-ever Magical Bookshop mystery.  Fans of Sofie Kelly and Heather Blake, prepare your bookshelves!

Stalker

By:  Lars Kepler

Goodreads rating: 4.09/5

A terrifying new thriller.  Detective Joona Linna – recently returned from compassionate leave, reunites with hypnotist Erik Maria Bark in a search for a seemingly unassailable sadistic killer.

The Stupendously Spectacular Spelling Bee

By: Deborah Abela

Goodreads rating; 4.2/5

A heartwarming story about a girl who’s afraid to follow her dreams, and the family who help make them happen.

At the Library

By: Heather Alexander and Ipek Konak

This beautifully illustrated book introduces children to libraries, big and small, and all of the amazing things these institutions have to offer.  From books to computers, from story time to special guests and from unique collections to very important rules.  This is a wonderful way for children to learn about libraries and the value of reading, sharing and community.

In addition, the unique design of the book allows children to discover a ‘hidden’ image by holding the page up to a bright light, much like a lift-the-flap mechanism.   For children aged 3 and up, this is an excellent and inclusive introduction to libraries.

Australian Backyard Earth Scientist

By: Peter Macinnis

Every activity in the book has been done from scratch and photographed, so readers can see the steps and read a logical account that leaves nothing out.  Author, Peter Macinnis hopes to give adults tools with which to infect another generation.

The Good Gut Diet

By: Women’s Weekly

The best way to look after your health is to eat a wide variety of wholesome gut-loving foods.  Follow the good gut diet to support your immune system, manage your weight, improve your moods, and keep stress and anxiety at bay.  If you’re good to your gut, your gut will be good to you!

 

New Books to the Library

 

 

 

Computer help with new Tech Thursdays

Learn about computers, tablets and technology

Last year, Shire of Dardanup Library Services launched its Tech20 program and last week saw the beginning of our new Tech Thursday sessions.

Each week there will be a new topic for discussion. In our first session, we looked at the differences between a desktop computer, a laptop, and digital devices. We also discussed some of the ways we use our computers and the internet. So whether you’ve just bought your first computer or you need to brush up on using your digital device, Tech Thursdays will have something for you:

WK TITLE DESCRIPTION DATE BOOKING
1 THE ABSOLUTE BASICS Basic description of a computer, laptop, tablet, smart phone, and the internet. Brief outline of the application and use of each. THURS,
7 FEB
10-11AM
CLOSED
2 STAYING SAFE ONLINE Creating safe passwords, paying safely online, avoiding scams and tricks, downloading and saving documents, how to access help. THURS,
14 FEB
10-11AM
CLOSED
3 GETTING TO KNOW
YOUR DEVICE
Using hardware such as a mouse, touchscreen, keyboard, computer tower, parts of the laptop, programs and files etc. THURS,
21 FEB
10-11AM
CLOSED
4 GETTING STARTED
ONLINE
Using the internet, online forums, email, search engines, and reinforce internet safety. THURS,
28 FEB
10-11AM
CLOSED
5 MORE ONLINE SKILLS Online shopping, social media overview, Facebook, using digital camera, watching and listening to online media. THURS,
7 MARCH
10-11AM
NOW OPEN
6 CONNECTING WITH
OTHERS
Getting set up for video calling, Skype, WhatsApp, FaceTime. THURS,
14 MARCH
10-11AM
NOW OPEN
7 ALL ABOUT DATA What is data? Choosing a data plan, managing your data, using your data overseas, home data vs. mobile data. THURS,
21 MARCH
10-11AM
NOW OPEN
8 WIFI AND MOBILE
NETWORKS
What is WiFi, Home Networks, WiFi on the go, Mobile networks THURS,
28 MARCH
10-11AM
NOW OPEN
9 ONLINE HOBBIES Family history, exploring with Google Earth and beyond, blogs. THURS,
4 APRIL
10-11AM
OPEN SOON
10 ALL ABOUT APPS We explore the world of apps (short for ‘Applications’, or computer programs). Learn about what you can do with them, where you get them, and how you can be safe using them.

THURS,
11 APRIL
10-11AM

OPEN SOON

Tech Thursday is part of the BeConnected series of classes. While the lessons are part of a larger course, attendees can choose whether they want to attend individual classes.

Currently, bookings for sessions are essential and if you have any queries please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Code Club finishes its first year

Congratulations to our Dardy Coders for taking their first steps into a larger world. 

While it took a little while to catch on, by the end of August we had full classes every week with participants completing their first module and making great progress on their coding path.

Well done to Doug and Harley for completing their Scratch Module 1. A great start to an exciting journey!

What is Code Club?

Code Club is a nationwide network of volunteer-led coding clubs with a mission to #getkidscoding! We are aiming to give every child the skill, confidence and opportunity to shape their world.
The program is aimed at kids aged 8 – 15 years of age who advance through a series of coding languages:
  1. Scratch – a simple block-coding program which allows users to build animations and games while learning the fundamentals of coding.
  2. HTML/CSS – allows users to develop their understanding while building web pages and online content from the ground up.
  3. Python – this highly versatile programming language allows users to use their understanding and creativity to build Apps and complete web sites.
  4. Blender – coders can build 3D animations and games, creating 3D characters and developing their own movies and stories.

Code Club is project based learning, aligned with the National Digital Technologies Curriculum and provides kids with the opportunity to collaborate, create, communicate and problem solve! We celebrate our errors and embrace them as a chance to learn.

Code Club is free to join and is supported by volunteers and library staff. 

We strongly encourage parents to come along and be a part of what their child is working on and achieving. Not only that, kids can log in from home and continue progressing through their lessons.

Being part of a Code Club means meeting like-minded people, making new friends and coding awesome things together!

What happens next?

We’ve learned a lot this year about Code Club and next year we are planning lots of ideas to make each class even more interesting and new. Registrations for Code Club 2019 will be announced in January so be sure to keep checking our website, Facebook or subscribe to our newsletter so you don’t miss out.

Family Footprints from Burekup to Bunbury

The Gravel Pit – our Storieis the story of Charles, his wife Rachel, and their 14 children.

Read More →