Archive for Social Media

Coding for kids after school

Code Club is back by popular demand!

We had so much fun last term and we can’t wait to get back into it again. Don’t miss out, register now!

What is Code Club?

Code Club is a nationwide network of volunteer-led coding clubs with a mission to #getkidscoding! We are aiming to give every child the skill, confidence and opportunity to shape their world.
The program is aimed at kids aged 8 – 15 years of age who advance through a series of coding languages:
  1. Scratch – a simple block-coding program which allows users to build animations and games while learning the fundamentals of coding.
  2. HTML/CSS – allows users to develop their understanding while building web pages and online content from the ground up.
  3. Python – this highly versatile programming language allows users to use their understanding and creativity to build Apps and complete web sites.
  4. Blender – coders can build 3D animations and games, creating 3D characters and developing their own movies and stories.

Code Club is project based learning, aligned with the National Digital Technologies Curriculum and provides kids with the opportunity to collaborate, create, communicate and problem solve! We celebrate our errors and embrace them as a chance to learn.

Code Club is free to join and is supported by volunteers and library staff. 

We strongly encourage parents to come along and be a part of what their child is working on and achieving. Not only that, kids can log in from home and continue progressing through their lessons.

Being part of a Code Club means meeting like-minded people, making new friends and coding awesome things together!

Don’t miss out, register now!

Tech Thursdays are back!

Tech Thursdays back for a new term.

Whether you’ve just bought your first computer or you need to brush up on using your digital device, Tech Thursdays will have something for you.

Each week there will be a new topic for discussion. In our first session, we look at the differences between a desktop computer, a laptop, and digital devices. We also discuss some of the ways we use our computers and the internet. See below for our full timetable, or download it here.

WK TITLE DESCRIPTION DATE  
1 THE ABSOLUTE BASICS Basic description of a computer, laptop, tablet, smart phone, and the internet. Brief outline of the application and use of each. THURS,
9 MAY
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
2 GETTING TO KNOW
YOUR DEVICE
Using hardware such as a mouse, touchscreen, keyboard, computer tower, parts of the laptop, programs and files etc. THURS,
16 MAY
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
3 GETTING STARTED
ONLINE
Using the internet, online forums, email, search engines, and reinforce internet safety. THURS,
23 MAY
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
4 STAYING SAFE ONLINE Creating safe passwords, paying safely online, avoiding scams and tricks, downloading and saving documents, how to access help. THURS,
30 MAY
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
5 MORE ONLINE SKILLS Online shopping, social media overview, Facebook, using digital camera, watching and listening to online media. THURS,
6 JUNE
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
6 CONNECTING WITH
OTHERS
Getting set up for video calling, Skype, WhatsApp, FaceTime. THURS,
13 JUNE
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
7 ALL ABOUT DATA What is data? Choosing a data plan, managing your data, using your data overseas, home data vs. mobile data. THURS,
20 JUNE
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
8 WIFI AND MOBILE
NETWORKS
What is WiFi, Home Networks, WiFi on the go, Mobile networks THURS,
27 JUNE
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW
9 ONLINE HOBBIES Family history, exploring with Google Earth and beyond, blogs. THURS,
4 JULY
10-11AM
REGISTER NOW

Tech Thursday is part of the BeConnected series of classes. While the lessons are part of a larger course, attendees can choose whether they want to attend individual classes.

Currently, registrations for sessions are essential and if you have any queries please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Book Talk

The Night Tiger

By: Yangsze Choo

Goodreads rating: 4.08/5

Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love.  Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

Depth Perception

By: Linda Castillo

Narrator: Ann Marie Lee

Goodreads rating: 3.94/5

A killer is watching……Nat Jennings nearly died the night her family was murdered and spent the next three years wishing she had.  Now, she is returning to the sleepy bayou town of Bellerose, Louisiana, driven by cryptic messages only she can hear – messages pleading for her help.

After serving six years for a crime he didn’t commit, Nick Bastille is back in Bellerose, mourning his precious son, who drowned while Nick was away at prison, unable to protect him.  But when Nat approaches him with a shocking revelation, his denial slowly turns to a desire for revenge…..Together, they will hunt for a merciless killer who nearly destroyed them both once – and is now preparing to finish them off once and for all……

Food Safari: Earth, Fire & Water

Maeve O’Meara invites you on a journey around the world of cuisines, meeting home cooks and chefs from Asia, Europe, the Americas and the Middle East who are all passionate advocates of cooking with the best and most natural produce they can get.

Discover the pleasures of baking, roasting, one-pot cooking, or cooking Asian-style in a wok, with the people across the globe that know how to do it best.  Maeve guides the reader through the regions she visits throughout the book – their ingredients and influences – while explaining local techniques in the practical and accessible style that has already won her so many followers.  Food Safari: Earth, Fire, Water are packed with more than 170 recipes, full of crunch, bite and flavour, which explore age-old techniques and cutting-edge cookery.

Murders and Metaphors

By: Amanda Flower

Goodreads rating:  4.43/5

Best selling author Amanda Flower,  is back with the third in her more-charming-than-ever Magical Bookshop mystery.  Fans of Sofie Kelly and Heather Blake, prepare your bookshelves!

Stalker

By:  Lars Kepler

Goodreads rating: 4.09/5

A terrifying new thriller.  Detective Joona Linna – recently returned from compassionate leave, reunites with hypnotist Erik Maria Bark in a search for a seemingly unassailable sadistic killer.

The Stupendously Spectacular Spelling Bee

By: Deborah Abela

Goodreads rating; 4.2/5

A heartwarming story about a girl who’s afraid to follow her dreams, and the family who help make them happen.

At the Library

By: Heather Alexander and Ipek Konak

This beautifully illustrated book introduces children to libraries, big and small, and all of the amazing things these institutions have to offer.  From books to computers, from story time to special guests and from unique collections to very important rules.  This is a wonderful way for children to learn about libraries and the value of reading, sharing and community.

In addition, the unique design of the book allows children to discover a ‘hidden’ image by holding the page up to a bright light, much like a lift-the-flap mechanism.   For children aged 3 and up, this is an excellent and inclusive introduction to libraries.

Australian Backyard Earth Scientist

By: Peter Macinnis

Every activity in the book has been done from scratch and photographed, so readers can see the steps and read a logical account that leaves nothing out.  Author, Peter Macinnis hopes to give adults tools with which to infect another generation.

The Good Gut Diet

By: Women’s Weekly

The best way to look after your health is to eat a wide variety of wholesome gut-loving foods.  Follow the good gut diet to support your immune system, manage your weight, improve your moods, and keep stress and anxiety at bay.  If you’re good to your gut, your gut will be good to you!

 

Did you know?

It was a WA Dentist who captured the centre of the Ottoman Empire

Popular history tells us that Sir T.E. Lawrence of Arabia drove into Damascus on 1 October 1918. However, it was actually a dentist from Western Australia who outstripped the revered commander by a matter of hours.

Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur Olden, commander of the 10th Australian Lighthorse Regiment, had already arrived at the capital of the Ottoman Empire and encircled the town hall. Drawing his revolver, Olden entered and formally received the surrender of Governor Emir Said before Lawrence was even in sight of the city. The document of surrender handed to the Lieutenant-Colonel hails him as the first “to enter Damascus, in the bravest manner known of the Saxon race”.

Despite Sir Lawrence’s memoirs and Hollywood blockbusters, Australian Lieutenant-General Sir Harry Chauvel notes that English forces were far from the first to enter Damascus:

“The first of the Arab forces to enter Damascus were those who followed Lawrence in and, by that time, an Australian Brigade and at least one regiment of Indian Cavalry had passed right through.”

Caretakers to our local history.

Image courtesy SLWA

Recently, the conservation team at the State Library of Western Australia authenticated a number of maps belonging to Lieutenant Olden. These documents outline much of the campaign to drive the Ottoman Empire back into Damascus and are important relics of international and local history. Thankfully, collections such as these exist to preserve this information within libraries, tasked with the noble duty of caretakers to our history.

At Eaton Community Library we are always collecting for our local history. We have such a rich and varied past in the Shire of Dardanup and it is important to ensure our story is documented and accessible to everyone. Everything from Fee’s Diaries and oral histories of Dardanup, to memoirs of the greater Bunbury area is included in our growing collection. A fantastic recent inclusion has been the The Gravel Pit which tells the story of Charles and Rachel Hill. Their family would go on to comprise much of our Aboriginal population of the local area, including Eaton, Burekup, and Dardanup.

If you would like to do some family history research, we have access to the Ancestry.com database for free (can only be accessed within the library). We also have books on how to do genealogy research. It’s a fascinating subject and something that is easier now than ever before with the online resources available.

Did you enjoy this article? Let us know.

Did you know?

Happy (un-un)Birthday Lewis Carroll

Read More →